News › Research

2016 UTRF Innovation Award Ceremony Honors UT Researchers

Category: Research

UTRF Stacey Patterson with award winners
Dr. Maha Krishnamurthy, UTRF Assistant Vice President of Licensing, Dr. Stacey S. Patterson, UTRF Vice President, Dr. Jayne Wu, and Dr. Shigetoshi Eda.

KNOXVILLE – The UT Research Foundation (UTRF) recognized 88 University of Tennessee researchers for their discoveries and commercialization efforts made within the last two years during the 2016 Innovation Award Ceremony

Honorees, during the Jan. 12 ceremony at The Foundry on The Fair Site, included recipients of patents from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, as well as inventors of technologies that were licensed to outside companies or who had created a start-up company based on their technology. In some cases, researchers received awards in more than one category.

For the past two years, the University has been ranked among the top 100 universities in the world granted U.S. patents.

Read about all the honorees at


Melissa Dos Santos

Tags: ,

Category: Research