News › Headlines

UT Committee Begins Search for New Institute of Agriculture Chancellor

Category: Headlines

Ag campus entrance

The search for the next chancellor of the University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture began today with the first meeting of the search committee. Nominations are being sought and a timeline has been set to have the new chancellor in place during the first quarter of 2017.

The chancellor serves as the chief academic and administrative officer of the Institute of Agriculture, which consists of UT Extension, AgResearch, the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources and the College of Veterinary Medicine.

The new chancellor will replace Larry Arrington, who is retiring Sept. 1. UT Extension Dean Tim Cross will serve as interim chancellor while a national search is conducted.

“The impact of the Institute of Agriculture is visible in every county and corner of our state,” said UT President Joe DiPietro. “Chancellor Larry Arrington has done an outstanding job guiding the Institute since taking office in 2011, and because of that, I know we will have no lack of talented candidates to succeed him.”

Chairing the committee is UT Institute for Public Service Vice President Herb Byrd, who previously served the Institute of Agriculture for more than 30 years. The additional 17 search committee members represent faculty, staff and students within the Institute of Agriculture as well as trustees, legislative and industry leaders:

  • David Anderson, professor and head, Large Animal Clinical Sciences
  • Taylre Beaty, student, Food and Agricultural Sciences
  • Janie Burney, professor, Family and Consumer Sciences
  • Faith Critzer, assistant professor, Food Science and Technology
  • Lannett Edwards, professor and graduate program director, Animal Science
  • Sharon Jean-Philippe, associate professor, Forestry, Wildlife and Fisheries
  • Juan Jurat-Fuentes, associate professor, Entomology and Plant Pathology
  • Carol McDonald, assistant commissioner for policy and legislation, Tennessee Department of Agriculture
  • Rhedona Rose, UT trustee; executive vice president, Tennessee Farm Bureau
  • Scott Senseman, professor and head, Plant Sciences
  • Bobby Simpson, director, East Tennessee Research and Education Center
  • Steve Smith, dean and professor, Hodges Library, UT Knoxville
  • Karen Tobias, professor, Small Animal Clinical Sciences
  • Deb Welch, management specialist, Extension Education and Staff Development
  • John Wilson, extension agent III and county director, Blount County
  • Mark Wilson, senior vice president, Farm Credit Mid-America
  • Al Womac, professor, Biosystems Engineering and Soil Sciences

Ashlie Czyz, director of HR programs, is the executive recruiter for the search. Linda Hendricks Harig, UT vice president for human resources, is serving as an adviser to the committee.

More information about the search is available on the search website.


Ellie Amador

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: Headlines