News › Announcements

Winners of 2024 President’s Awards Announced

Category: Announcements

President's Award

KNOXVILLE – University of Tennessee System President Randy Boyd announced the recipients of the 2024 President’s Awards during the annual UT Board of Trustees meeting today in Knoxville.

Fifteen faculty and staff members from across the UT System received the awards in recognition and celebration of their accomplishments and dedication to the University and its Be One UT values. Award recipients were nominated by campus and institute leaders and selected from a systemwide pool. They will be honored by the president and his Be One UT cabinet during a special luncheon in August.

“The President’s Awards highlight the exceptional work and commitment demonstrated by our faculty and staff throughout Tennessee,” Boyd said. “Their contributions are invaluable in making this the greatest decade in UT history. It is an honor and privilege to work alongside them in serving the people of our great state.”

Established in 2016, the President’s Awards annually recognize the achievements of UT System faculty and staff who contribute to the University’s mission to educate, discover and connect. The awards are the highest honor an employee can receive from the University. Each winner receives a commemorative plaque inspired by the University of Tennessee president’s medallion and a monetary award of $3,000.

This year’s recipients, the largest cohort in the program’s history, represent UT Knoxville, UT Chattanooga, UT Southern, UT Martin, UT Health Science Center, UT Institute for Agriculture, UT Institute for Public Service and the UT Space Institute in Tullahoma, a part of the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. A complete list of previous recipients is available online.


Bold and Impactful Honorees:

Faculty: Dr. David Shibata
Professor and Chair of the Department of Surgery and Executive Director/Chief Medical Officer of the UTHSC Cancer Program, College of Medicine
UT Health Science Center

Faculty: Claire Paul
Assistant Professor, Division of Education and Program Coordinator, Special Education
UT Southern

Staff: Ammar Ammar
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Information Technology and Chief Technology and Information Security Officer
UT Health Science Center

Embrace Diversity Honorees:

Faculty: Dr. Katy Chiles
Associate Professor, English
UT Knoxville

Staff: Angie Carrier
Program Manager, Municipal Management
Municipal Technical Advisory Service
UT Institute for Public Service

Optimistic and Visionary Honorees:

Faculty: Joseph Ostenson
Professor, Department of Psychology and Interim Director, Center for Global Engagement and Experience
UT Martin

Staff: Kari Alldredge
Vice Provost, Enrollment Management
UT Knoxville

Nimble and Innovative Honorees:

Faculty: Brian Stevens
Sr. Lecturer, Business Analytics and Statistics
UT Knoxville

Staff: Dr. Mina Sartipi
Director, Research Institute
UT Chattanooga

Excel In All We Do Honorees:

Faculty: Dr. Nicole Labbe
Assistant Director, Center for Renewable Carbon, School of Natural Resources
UT Institute of Agriculture

Staff: Brett Fuchs
Associate Dean of Students
UT Chattanooga

United and Connected Honorees:

Faculty: Dr. Bruce Keisling
Shainberg Professor and Executive Director of the Center on Developmental Disabilities, College of Medicine, Departments of Pediatrics and Medical Education
UT Health Science Center

Staff: Brad Harris
Finance and Accounting Consultant
Municipal Technical Advisory Service
UT Institute for Public Service

Transparent and Trusted Honorees:

Faculty: Dr. Karen Derefinko
Associate Professor, College of Medicine, Department of Preventive Medicine
UT Health Science Center

Staff: Kaycee Edwards
Business Manager
UT Space Institute


To access the bio and photo file of award recipients, please click here.


Melissa Tindell
505 Summer Place, UT Tower, Knoxville, TN 37902 

Rob Reburn
505 Summer Place, UT Tower, Knoxville, TN 37902

Tags: , ,

Category: Announcements