News › Announcements

UT Committee Begins Search for New UT Health Science Center Chancellor

Category: Announcements

KNOXVILLE — A committee to direct the search for the next chancellor at
the University of Tennessee Health Science Center has been established
and is set to begin work at its first meeting Dec. 18.

An external consultant will be hired to work with the committee to
recruit candidates, narrow the candidate field and vet candidates. The
University is currently conducting a request for proposals to select the

The new chancellor will serve as chief administrative officer of the
UTHSC campus in Memphis and its satellite locations in Chattanooga,
Knoxville, Jackson and elsewhere in the state. UTHSC enrolls more than
2,700 students and has more than 4,000 employees.

Partnerships UTHSC has across the state involve health care providers
such as Methodist University Hospital, Le Bonheur Children’s Medical
Center, The Regional Medical Center at Memphis, University Health System
(Knoxville), Erlanger Health System (Chattanooga), Baptist Memorial
Health System, West Tennessee Health Care (Jackson), St. Francis
Hospital, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital and the Department of
Veteran Affairs Medical Center in Memphis. The Health Science Center
also has affiliations with Memphis Bioworks Foundation and Oak Ridge
National Laboratory.

“The University is eager to find a highly qualified and dynamic
individual to lead the Health Science Center during this critical time
and beyond,” Interim UT President Jan Simek said. “The chancellor will
help the University pursue its goal of increasing UTHSC’s research
efforts and continuing to improve upon providing the best training and
education for the health care professionals in Tennessee.”

The chancellor will replace Hershel P. Wall, who served in that role
from 2007 to Sept. 30, 2009. Steve Schwab, executive dean for the UT
College of Medicine, has been named interim chancellor.

The search committee’s first meeting will be at 2:30 p.m., Dec. 18, at
the Health Science Center in 101 Hyman Building, 62 South Dunlap St.,

Simek has appointed William Evans, director and chief executive officer
of St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, and Linda Hendricks, chief
human resources officer for the UT System, as co-chairs of the

The committee’s other 18 members are:

Kennard D. Brown, UTHSC executive vice chancellor and chief of staff
Phillip Burns, chair UTHSC College of Medicine, Chattanooga
George Cates, UT trustee
Barbara Connolly, interim dean, College of Allied Health Science
James Eason, professor of surgery and program director of the Methodist University Hospital (MUH) Transplant Institute
Dick R. Gourley, dean, College of Pharmacy
Monice Hagler, UT trustee
Margaret (Peg) Hartig, department chair, College of Nursing
Timothy Hottel, dean, College of Dentistry
J.R. (Pitt) Hyde, CEO, J.R. Hyde III Family Foundations
Robert Kaplan, dermatologist, assistant professor, UTHSC alumnus
Joseph R. Landsman Jr., president and CEO, UT Medical Center, Knoxville
Melaina Perry, UTHSC SGA president
Karl Schledwitz, UT trustee
Gary Shorb, president and CEO, Methodist Healthcare Foundation
Lacey Smith, interim dean, College of Medicine
Cheryl C. Stegbauer, associate dean, College of Nursing
Parker D. Suttle, president, UTHSC Faculty Senate
For more information about UTHSC, visit

Category: Announcements